reading list

A incomplete list of books and papers I want to read as well as many I've already read.

Add me on Goodreads!

want to read

This section includes books and papers I've started but haven't finished.

Roads and Bridges: The Unseen Labor Behind Our Digital Infrastructure by Nadia Eghbal. This research report from 2016 got me thinking about the open source ecosystem for the very first time, but I've never read it in full.

The Pragmatic Programmer by David Thomas and Andrew Hunt. I've been trying to read this since 2017. Part of the problem is that the content kinda just motivates me to put the book down and go code some stuff. Maybe someday I'll get through it.

I've read these so I actually feel comfortable recommending them.

Accelerate by Dr. Nicole Forsgren, Jez Humble, and Gene Kim. It's the seminal work on measuring productivity in modern software teams. I basically consider it required reading for engineers approaching the senior level, engineering managers, and technical product managers, but it's approachable for anyone who cares about development velocity. Additionally, the second half of the book is a great explanation of research methodologies using qualitative data.

Becoming a Technical Leader by Gerald M. Weinberg

On Writing Well by William Zinsser

read

These are books I've read that left a mark on me. I wouldn't recommend them over books in the previous section, but I think it's good to reference my numerous influences.

Facts and Fallacies of Software Engineering by Robert L. Glass. This short read is celebrating its 20th anniversary this year. I read it early in my career so it's had a strong influence on me. While some of the specific references might be a bit dated and the quality of research is lacking, the themes are evergreen—especially the fallacies.